More
referral
Increase your income with Hive. Invite your friends and earn real cryptocurrency!

EthEnlargementPill for 1080 Ti safe/recommended settings? Noob here

Good day all, I have two EVGA GTX 1080 Ti GPUs and I want to enable the ethenlargementpill in HIVE OS in the overclock settings.

What is the recommended and safest (to not burn anything down) setting for ethash Algo to mine Ethereum Classic? I see that you can enter numbers for the core clock Mhz, memory clock Mhz, Fan%, power limit (watts). I can also switch on the OhGodAnETHlargementPill switch in HIVE overclock settings.

What is " Specify which device should be fed our senior solution, --revA 0,1,2,…"? Is this asking which GPU should be fed this setting?

What is the " Delay in seconds before running the pill" for?

Also, is this pill safe for long term use? Does it increase the Mh/s and keep the watt usage relatively low?

1 Like

I use the pill on all rigs running [[EVGA 1080 Ti FTW 3]] cards without any additional parameters being required.

The first picture below is a rig mining ETC with 13 cards and overclock tuned for the lowest power consumption and highest stable hash rate. This rig is capable, without any changes in overclock tuning, to mine ETH, ETC or BTG. The hash rate is the same on Ethash algorithms. The second picture is BTG further demonstrating hashing power utilizing 8 cards on a different rig. Both rigs use the pill. Overclocking is up to you to experiment with as that affects stability and power consumption of the rig.

You ask about long term use and I would say that’s up to your tuning and whether you do two things correctly, 1) keep the power consumption low and 2) provide adequate cooling and air flow. Notice my temps rarely exceed 50 degrees Celsius in a climate controlled environment. If you run the cards at 70 degrees you are killing them and burning power. I have not noticed temperature changes using the pill.