More
referral
Increase your income with Hive. Invite your friends and earn real cryptocurrency!

GPU Driver Errors and 6600XT?

Mining since 2018 (Windows/Nvidia), and I like to think that I’m pretty well versed, but this is my first time using HiveOS/AMD and I’m at my wits end trying to figure this out. Fair warning - I tend to be thorough with my troubleshooting and documentation, in hopes that such information will avoid suggestions of things that have already been attempted.

6x6600 XT (4x Powercolor Red Devil/4x Sapphire Pulse - all brand new)

OC = 980 core, 1140 memory, 650 VDD, each card giving 32.64 MH @ 50 watts (avg)

HiveOS version 06-210@201107 with AMD 20.40 (5.11.0701)

Ran fine for ~ 14 hours. The next day, I noticed that at some point overnight, the rig had crashed, showing “GPU driver error - no temps”.

Most research that I’ve found on this error seems to be with Nvidia cards, but I started troubleshooting 101 and removed all risers from MB (Asus Z590-P with Intel I5-10600K) and began testing cards 1x1 to see which card(s) had failed. Started with PCIE slot #1.

Testing -
GPU 0 (Powercolor) - pcie slot 1 - GPU driver error - no temps
GPU 1 (Powercolor) - pcie slot 1 - working
GPU 2 (Powercolor) - pcie slot 1 - GPU driver error - no temps
GPU 3 (Powercolor) - pcie slot 1 - working
GPU 4 (Sapphire) - pcie slot 1 - working
GPU 5 (Sapphire) - pcie slot 1 - working

Then tried other slots for GPU 0 -
GPU 0 - pcie slot 2 - GPU driver error - no temps
Swapped riser on GPU 0 with known working riser
GPU 0 - pcie slot 1 - GPU driver error - no temps
GPU 0 - pcie slot 3 - GPU driver error - no temps

Verified other GPUs were working in other slots -
GPU 1 - pcie slot 1 - working
GPU 3 - pcie slot 2 - working
GPU 4 - pcie slot 3 - working
GPU 5 - pcie slot 4 - working

Swapped known working power cable and riser (taken from GPU 1)
GPU 0 - pcie slot 1 - GPU driver error - no temps
Rebooted.
Changed OC settings to 900 core, 1339 memory - working @28.66 MH