More
referral
Increase your income with Hive. Invite your friends and earn real cryptocurrency!

L3+ NAND flash error detected

So I’ve been mining for a couple years now, and just moved all of my miners over to HiveOS as of 2 weeks ago. Last night I received a “NAND flash error detected” notification on 2 of my L3+'s for the first time, and I’m not sure how to handle this. Error message details…

"Mining is not affected (most likely). It could be in connection with an unclean reboot OR, rarely, with a NAND wear and tear. The first is completely harmless, but the second does suggest that the ASIC’s control board may need a service or replacement in the very near future.

Errors:

[ 4.377471] jffs2: jffs2_scan_inode_node(): CRC failed on node at 0x00fc87d8: Read 0xffffffff, calculated 0x21eb2a22".

Now, I have 3 plausible ideas of what this could be, but I’d appreciate any input from other miners in the community who have experienced this for themselves.

1. Possible virus [(thinking unlikely) but was using unsigned version of BlissZ before move to HiveOS]
  2. Failing control boards on the 2 L3+'s (seems pretty coincidental)
  3. Power outtage damaged control boards [(Please god no) from sudden shut off then restart, maybe?]

I am thinking of re-flashing the firmware onto these two L3+'s via MicroSD, like I do with all of my miner’s but I don’t want the downtime if its not going to solve the issue. Additionally, I have rebooted both miners several times and still receive the message.

Any knowledge on the matter or ideas would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

I received the same message couple times right after sudden power outage. So it really might be the " in connection with an unclean reboot" and maybe there is nothing to worry about if it only shows after the reboot.