More
referral
Increase your income with Hive. Invite your friends and earn real cryptocurrency!

NVIDIA A100 drivers

Heya.
Noob here and new to mining / crypto.
I have a gpu server with 2x AMD EPYC 7H12 64-Core Processor, 2TB RAM and 8 x A100 40GB that I am using from mining outside working hours when GPUs are not being used, however i could use 6 gpus’s non stop.
I have 2 virtual machines, each with 4 gpu’s allocated and windows 10. I have tried ubuntu, but i had difficulties installing the drivers, while windows was a straightforward driver.
One VM is mining on nicehash quickminer with a constant 169.52 MH/s and the other is with GMiner on 2miners pool. I get 175MH/s.

I am thinking about installing a dedicated OS, however does it worth the struggle? I see no support for A100 on hiveos, but maybe the drivers included already support it?

For the numbers given, i imagine I should have better results than now?

Thanks and my bad for asking maybe newbie questions.

I have a single A100 to test with. Still waiting on a server case to keep it cool. Have you tried booting the host to HiveOS? Curious to know if the A100’s are even detected?

Indeed a good cooling is a must, as the airflow is quite high, with an intake temperature of 19C and output of 65C, while GPU temperatures never go below 63 degrees C or over 70 C, no matter if indoor AC’s are full power and keeping a low 17C or 30C. The gpu is so efficient, that with 2 kW used we get 1400-1500MH/s and we spend only a few euro/day on electricity.

First of all, by no means I am advanced in IT. The server is virtualized using VMWARE and microsoft solutions. With tutorials I managed to make the A100 work in ubuntu and make it to mine, however after a few hours the miner stopped working with GPU errors. With windows10 I have no problems mining, so I stick to it.