More
referral
Increase your income with Hive. Invite your friends and earn real cryptocurrency!

RX 580 rig optimization

So I am new to mining, ive never had a miner before, I have used my RTX 3090 PC to play around mining, but nothing I took seriously.
I ended up buying 2 closed server rigs and then bought 16 RX 580s.
I currently only have 11 running as I am waiting on the other 5 GPUs to come in, I have bio’s modded each card and played with OC settings, trying to balance the power consumption vs the MH gains.

So far both rigs run smooth, I just wanted to know someone with knowledge advice if I am doing anything wrong here.

This is a 8 gpu Octominer 4 fan server case. Screenshot - b90378109eb96deb5f1d697406659e11 - Gyazo

This is a 8 gpu biostar 3 fan server case . Screenshot - ef7b8731300bd7f65f77206fc1f6a365 - Gyazo

I was getting invalid shares from one gpu after 20 mins to an hour but seem to have fixed that by adjusting the mem clock.

Thoughts, tips, anything at all you can offer would be appreciated.
Thank you

I like the rigs , they seem fine.

i think you can optimize some of the cards.
for instance the samsung ones
i guess you used polaris bios editor and uber mix 3.1.
have you tested with uber mix 3.2 and 2100 memory clock.
also i suggest you insert into the memory controller field 800mv, it might reduce a bit the power usage.
The hynix and micron cards i think can do more than 2050 memory clock, try with 2100 2120 2150.

Also DPM states are not used when you specify the core clock and core voltages so you can remove them but you need to tweak a bit the core voltages.
for the cards with 1150 core clock you can try setting 850 as core voltage.
if you go higher like the ones with 1180 core clock you can increase the voltage to 860, 870, 880.
Its a matter of testing and checking if its stable. start one by one with the cards.

1 Like